Weight Loss…AGAIN! Part 2


Alright I don’t usually go back and read an old post but in checking yesterday’s I realized I left out a side bar…in September I had entered into a contest between several different IT, Technical Directors, Video, Audio type folks at churches around the country. This is the 6th year that this contest has been held and I thought it would motivate me to get back on the path of weight loss. In the first week I gained 9 lbs..fabulous job…the good news is that the 2nd week…no weight gain! Oh well no weight loss either but hey I had something to hold onto…
It was during that second week of the contest I had the talk with my doc and he sent me to a place that he had looked at with a fine tooth comb. See my doc is a guy who wants his patients to find something that can be life changing, and in looking for that something he found Slim 4 Life. A fellow doctor showed up at a conference and lost a dramatic amount of weight. My doc asked him if he finally did the surgery and he said nope I found Slim 4 Life. So doc said he had people on the program who had lost the weight they needed too lose on this program and he checked it out and it was medically sound. Nothing crazy and not something you can’t keep losing weight on.
Now folks I have been on A LOT of different diets..Pat Walker’s, Weight Watchers, Nutrisystem, cabbage soup (ugh)…cookie, Slim Fast, a protein shake and candy bar diet. I mean I don’t know if you can relate but if something came out and it said I could lose some weight…baby it was in my house by the end of the day… So honestly…going to another “diet” place…made me want to hurl…but..I went…
I went to Slim 4 Life ready to tell them no thanks…and I was ready to say forget this I will shoot for 400 lbs and prove the good old doctor wrong..I will be alive…HA! So I go expecting the same old pitch…which I did get…”this can change your life! You can be healthier! We know what we are doing!” Only problem is…I could see the results around me…one person who works there..she lost 50 lbs and believed in the program so much that she now works for the company.  In fact everybody in the place I go to has done the plan and come on staff afterwards not the oh yea I need to see how this thing works. Nope they have been there and done that.
So I did it. I decided that I would give it a shot. By the time i made it in there i had gotten up to 357 lbs…two months later…as of this morning I am at 308 lbs…yea I know not too bad..I am somewhat reserved in my excitement only because this time last year I was 295…but it works. Not does it work but I am changing my life and the way I eat. I have for the longest time eaten like “give me a bucket full of stuff cause it may all go away!” Now I know I don’t need to eat all I can cause it will still be around. Also it is amazing how better you feel when you actually get your fruits and veggies in a day. I am not going to go into the diet.  If you are interested check Slim 4 Life out. Have a been absolutely perfect? Nope just ask my pal Rusty…I ate 20 chicken wings and had a large fry at Wing Stop just last Saturday. The difference now is…I understand how to get rid of that poundage that comes afterwards.
I will be doing this diet till June according to them…mainly because we are shooting for 210. So as of today I am about 100 lbs away…I will keep you updated better since maybe I can give some people out there hope.  Cause really I had given up…I was resigned that I was going to be fat and unhealthy for the rest of my life…now I know I won’t be. So I will be praying for you and ask that you would pray for me.  Food addiction is a struggle…and I know I have that addiction…but I know I can lick it.
Oh by the way..after giving the contest a two week head start….I am now in 2nd place…two more weeks to go till it is over I will let you know how it ends…time to get groovin’.

2 responses to “Weight Loss…AGAIN! Part 2

  • Gary Saunders

    Looks like you and I may be in the same sinking ship. In 2009 I weighed 159lbs. Now, thanks to a change in diabetes medication, I’m tipping in at 295lbs. Somethings gotta give. This is no fun. But I DO love food. Not only do I love to eat, I love to cook. I’m doubly doomed. Will say prayers for ya. Chris. Let me know how it goes.

    • mchrischilds

      Hey Gary…I understand…I am on the type 2 stuff myself..along with lower the cholesterol stuff…oh yea and an aspirin not that I have had a heart attack…just as a preventative..goes along with the severe Sleep Apnea…since I know you are in the DFW area…I suggest you check them out..not going to lie it is a bit pricey but it is well worth it…
      I love to cook too and they are teaching me what and how to cook…it has been great! Keep at it and I will be praying for you buddy…thanks for reading…

Leave a Reply

The Middle School Ministry of Christ Chapel

Just another WordPress.com site

Groovin' Out On Life In General

Ramblings from a Rambler

Just Pleasure

"I never feel guilty about pleasures." ― Tom Hiddleston

student ministry: decade two

Exploring student ministry from the heart, mind and soul

Recklelss Follower - Andymac's Blog

Recklessly journeying toward the One

DennyWeinman.com

The intersection of Crossfit, Paleo and A/V.

Provocations & Pantings

Trusting God :: Treasuring Christ :: Triumphing the Gospel

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Hill House

Thoughts on Family, Reading, and Ministry

