Taking Direction


Today I was thinking about direction. As some of you may know I have been invovled in the TV industry professionally since I was 13. I started running camera on the weekends at a TV station in Midland, TX called KMID. My dad had been the weekend weatherman for a few years and before that was the 6 pm sports anchor. So that is how I ended up running camera at such a young age.

I know it sounds strange that they would turn a high dollar piece of equipment over to a 13 year old but really the uh camera was barely that. They started me out running the slide camera which was an old, and I mean old, camera that would shoot the slides which were put over the anchor’s shoulders. This camera was held together with cables,  seriously,  two cables wrapped around from top to bottom. If the slide was crooked you could just pull one cable and the camera would lean one way or the other.

Anyway all that to say I learned right away that I was going to have to pay close attention to the director or I bring down the show. I mean it sounds small but if you had a slide of a fire over the shoulder but the story was about a carnival in town it could send the wrong message. Directing in TV is hard, I understand that now more than ever because that just what I do now. I direct the video portion of our servivces at Christ Chapel. Telling people where to go and where to be can be a bit nuts but I have a great bunch of volunteers who understand when I say “get me the women choir leftside” they follow.

Direction in TV is important but direction in life is way more important. Christ Chapel is spending the next two years reading through the Old Testament. It has been awesome at times and sawdust at times, but I am enjoying reading parts of the Word that I have never dove into and seeing what God wants me to learn. Today in my bibletime I was reading in Numbers chapter 2.  This can be a bit dry since it is basically God directing the Israelites on where they will put up their tents and what order those tents shall be, and finally who is in charge of each tribe.

I came to verse 34 which states, “Thus the sons of Israel did; according to all that the LORD commanded Moses, so they camped by their standards, and so they set out, every one by his family according to his father’s household.” (NASV) Now I really like what the Message version says, “The People of Israel did everything the way God commanded Moses: They camped under their respective flags; they marched by tribe with their ancestral families.”  This struck me cause they actually did it.  The Israelites took God’s direction and did it. “Everything the way God commanded…” God gave the direction and they followed.  I really wish I could be that obedient.  God wants to direct my life but I get in the way thinking I have a better shot or a better way to get what I want and not what He wants. Then I screw up and there is the replay right there in front of me.  The replay of God directing me, but my choosing to go another path.

If I understand how important submitting to a director is when I am working a TV show….then why can’t I understand how much more important it is to submit to the ultimate director.  The good news that God give me Grace.  Grace to screw up…swish pan…pop zoom in..put the wrong subject in my lens…Grace…He can gives us Grace to cover those replays that we wish we did not have in our lives.  All we have to do after the replay is submit and listen for His direction….time to get groovin’

Leave a Reply

The Middle School Ministry of Christ Chapel

Just another WordPress.com site

Groovin' Out On Life In General

Ramblings from a Rambler

Just Pleasure

"I never feel guilty about pleasures." ― Tom Hiddleston

student ministry: decade two

Exploring student ministry from the heart, mind and soul

Recklelss Follower - Andymac's Blog

Recklessly journeying toward the One

DennyWeinman.com

The intersection of Crossfit, Paleo and A/V.

Provocations & Pantings

Trusting God :: Treasuring Christ :: Triumphing the Gospel

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Hill House

Thoughts on Family, Reading, and Ministry

