3D…Really??


OK so I was just out in Las Vegas for the annual NAB convention. For those of you wondering NAB stands for National Association of Broadcasters.  Now our church is not on TV and I know it sounds strange that as a church staff member I would go out to Vegas, but this is the convention of conventions for those of us doing video, film, and radio so you have to go where the stuff is. Wow was there stuff this year.  The convention center in Vegas has 2 Million square feet of exhibit space….2 MILLION…and it was all full of new gadgets and gizmos of all kinds of video, lighting,  radio transmitters, and electronic thing-a-ma-bobs.  Why there was even a 4×4 vehicle with and HD mounted camera on the front that you control from the passenger seat.  I am still trying to figure out how to work that one into next years budget…..

So anyway this year the big deal at the big deal convention…..3D. In my best Ben Stein voice…wow.  Very underwhelming. I mean seriously…really??  I am trying to wrap my head around an industry that has decided that THIS TIME…no really…THIS TIME 3D is going to work!!!  UGH!!!  I mean I don’t want you to think I don’t think 3D is cool…it is…I mean Avatar was absolutely AWESOME from a technology and WOW factor..by the way Dances With Wolves called and they want their storyline back…and all the worship the tree stuff….whatever that could be a whole other blog.

Sorry back on track…the techno stuff that the movie brought in was unbelievable and definitely raised the bar for any 3D stuff behind it.  So now because of that companies want you to jettison that HD TV you just bought (I say you cause I still don’t have one…yea I am that guy…the one involved in the video world but has not had time to be a consumer of the video world…) and they want you to buy a 3D TV for around $3000 and they will throw in 2 pairs of glasses for free. Gee thanks…my family of four will ove the two glasses…so now buy 2 more pair.  Of course I know this doesn’t happen at your house… but at mine…I can’t even find the remote control on a regular basis…that is while I am tripping over the XBox and Wii controllers…so having to keep up with four pairs of glasses would be a NIGHTMARE!!!!!

I really think this new 3D fascination in your home will die down..as it has each time it comes around.  I know there are enough people out there who have to be the Jones’ on their block and run out and get it…well..good for them.  I mean seriously think about it this industry wants you to change your TV watching when they can’t even agree on what kind of HD they want to use 720 or 1080….time to get groovin’

One response to “3D…Really??

Leave a Reply

The Middle School Ministry of Christ Chapel

Just another WordPress.com site

Groovin' Out On Life In General

Ramblings from a Rambler

Just Pleasure

"I never feel guilty about pleasures." ― Tom Hiddleston

student ministry: decade two

Exploring student ministry from the heart, mind and soul

Recklelss Follower - Andymac's Blog

Recklessly journeying toward the One

DennyWeinman.com

The intersection of Crossfit, Paleo and A/V.

Provocations & Pantings

Trusting God :: Treasuring Christ :: Triumphing the Gospel

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Hill House

Thoughts on Family, Reading, and Ministry

