Developing My Talk Life


So anyway….this morning was good to the point I actually prayed.  “Yea so” you say…well..for me it is.  My prayer life has always been shaky at best.  Yes I pray for others but not consistently, and I feel like it is always a repetition prayer. Please God help me with this or that…oh and mix in some help for this person.  In my weekly Bible study we have been challenged the last two weeks to change our prayer life…like start one maybe??

Why must we pray? Because this is a relationship between a Father and His son/daughter not a boss/employee relationship.  While I have a great relationship with my boss the purpose of my walk is to have a better relationship with God.  How did I get that relationship with my boss?  We are friends and talk.  How do I better my relationship with God?  Talk to Him.  It is a struggle though.  I feel like I have to have all the right words to say, have the right frame of mind, be in the prayer zone.  I am starting to realize He doesn’t care what I say, where my mind is, or if I am in a zone of anything.  He just wants to talk with me.  Today in reading Exodus 34 I actually prayed at the same time through what I was learning and it opened a new door that I had heard about but never really thought I was going to get there.  The passage that jumped out was verses 6-7: “The LORD, the LORD, a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness, 7 keeping steadfast love for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin, but who will by no means clear the guilty, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children and the children’s children, to the third and the fourth generation.”  God felt this way even after the Israelites had made the golden calf.  Pretty forgiving God…yea and He still is towards me even when I make things into a golden calf.  That was good to read but better to use that passage as a way to pray to Him.

Something else that I am having to work on is listening.  Ever been on the other side of a one way conversation?  Well that is fun isn’t it? You spend most of the time going…”Yea…mmmm hmmm…right…I see…yes….no…uh…”  Fun times. Now think about how you pray to the Father?  Anytime to in that time to being still and quiet?  Nope me either but I am working on it. Good news I still can and He is waiting to talk to me when I am ready to be quiet and still.

I just know that the more I talk to Him and the more I listen then hopefully I can stay in touch with the direction He wants me to go.  Just remember the easy part of any prayer life…start talking…He is always there..which is just AWESOME!

Anywho just thought I would share a few things.  Next week I will be at NAB. Should be fun since I have not been there a few years and I love going to look at all the new toys for TV stuff.  I might wait to the end of the week when I get back to write something about the cool stuff but I will be tweeting from the floor with pictures for all my tech buddies who can’t make it….well…time to get groovin’….

One response to “Developing My Talk Life

Leave a Reply

The Middle School Ministry of Christ Chapel

Just another WordPress.com site

Groovin' Out On Life In General

Ramblings from a Rambler

Just Pleasure

"I never feel guilty about pleasures." ― Tom Hiddleston

student ministry: decade two

Exploring student ministry from the heart, mind and soul

Recklelss Follower - Andymac's Blog

Recklessly journeying toward the One

DennyWeinman.com

The intersection of Crossfit, Paleo and A/V.

Provocations & Pantings

Trusting God :: Treasuring Christ :: Triumphing the Gospel

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Hill House

Thoughts on Family, Reading, and Ministry

