To Church Or Not To Church


So here it is…Easter Week. This is the week that a lot of people attend church for the one of two times this year….the other being Christmas Eve. I know because I grew up in a home like that. I have always said we went to church on those days if the weather was cruddy. Cruddy??? Yep. My dad’s passion was for golf. In fact I sometimes wondered if he had to choose between never playing golf and being with us or playing golf and not being with us….hhhhhmmmm.
Don’t get me wrong I love my dad like nobody’s business, he died almost 16 years ago and to this day I miss him greatly. He was the biggest influence in my life and there are still things today that I can trace back to him. However by the time I came around…I was the youngest of 5…the only worship he did on Sundays was at the church of the clubhouse followed by a gin rummy fellowship. Not that it was that bad of a situation but my mom tells stories of dad actually teaching an adult bible study at a church. She even remarked one time that she had people coming up to her telling her how great a teacher he was. WHAT?? I still wonder what it would have been like to know that man.
So I guess where I am going is…I can understand that a lot of folks think that church is just something that is to be tolerated not enjoyed or dare I say….desired. I totally get it I used to be the same way. If you think church can be too straight lace nerdy kind thing well then you haven’t been to church lately my friend. I’m not saying that there aren’t churches that are straight lace and nerdy…there are…more so than not…but…if you have something in your gut that is tugging at your heart and you think maybe there can be something to this Jesus thing…then go…what have you got to lose…one hour of your life?  Your online already so research and find a church that might be your style and go see. Oh and if not that one try another one…churches today are not a one size fit all…you can find one……stand by for obvious commercial plug…
If it gets to Saturday and you still haven’t found where to go well then I would invite you to join Christ Chapel. As Ted, our Senior Pastor, says “We are not a perfect church, but we are a good church.”
We stream live so you don’t even have to get out of PJs. We will have 6 services streaming this weekend. We have 2 Contemporary services Saturday night 5 & 7. On Sunday we have 4 Traditional services 8, 9:30, 11, & 12:30. You can join us at CCBC.rbm.tv …..end of commercial.
Look I don’t care if you come to CCBC, stream online, or go to a church down your street…I just say go. Today we can become so wrapped up in what we think the church is all about that we stay away from it just just because of our own mandate that all churches are created equal.  They aren’t…are some screwed up…OH YES…are some teaching weird theology…unfortunately yes. But God can do what He wants through whatever platform He chooses no matter how twisted the teaching is…  Why not just for this weekend take a chance?  He has a place for you in a pew or seat somewhere this weekend…He is waiting… Well time to get groovin’…..

Leave a Reply

The Middle School Ministry of Christ Chapel

Just another WordPress.com site

Groovin' Out On Life In General

Ramblings from a Rambler

Just Pleasure

"I never feel guilty about pleasures." ― Tom Hiddleston

student ministry: decade two

Exploring student ministry from the heart, mind and soul

Recklelss Follower - Andymac's Blog

Recklessly journeying toward the One

DennyWeinman.com

The intersection of Crossfit, Paleo and A/V.

Provocations & Pantings

Trusting God :: Treasuring Christ :: Triumphing the Gospel

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Hill House

Thoughts on Family, Reading, and Ministry

